This wonderful feeling

If you have heard about the Erasmus experience you might have created an image in your head: a group of friends from different nationalities partying every day and without any further responsibility than showing up in class once in a while.

Unfortunately, the Erasmus that I am living doesn’t look like the above mentioned image. I cannot miss more than 2 classes and from the 6th week I have to spend more time than I wished I had to working on essays. London is very expensive so it depends on your budget, but normally you cannot afford eating out very often and if you are a boy it’s very expensive to go out to most of the clubs.

But London makes all worth it.

Every area of this city has something amazing to offer. There are people in the streets all day long which makes you feel safe. When you walk in the streets you hear all kind of languages (and a lot of Spanish, everything has to be said). In my uni, they don’t care if you are Spanish because the boy sitting next to you is from Italy and the girl sitting on the other side is from India. They don’t treat you different.

It feels like home when you can gather with the little family that you have created, when you can sit all together on the sofas and watch a movie after a long day in the library. You wake up smiling when there is a ray of light entering through the window and you notice that it’s going to be a sunny day.

It’s amazing to have the chance of living in a city so plenty of opportunities, where you can enter a café and meet someone new. I love being able to visit the British Museum, the National Gallery or the Tate Modern every time I feel like or being able to buy anything that you can probably imagine (you’ll find it).

This is a video I made for my friends in order to remember somehow our first semester in London. Just watch it and see if you understand what I have tried to convince you of.

[youtube:http://youtu.be/fJnFSPyTVBE%5D

I know that maybe you can’t get the feeling that I am describing but you should really trust me and if one day you have the opportunity to come to London, just do it. You won’t regret it.

Pinky Promise.

Camden Lock Market

There is one place that everyone (especially young people) wants to visit when being in London. This place is the Camden Lock Market. Located in the centre of Camden Town, it hosts a multicultural and varied market where you can find almost everything that you might be looking for: clothes, phone cases, accessories, posters and… food. You can choose from a wide range of international food stalls and you can eat by the riverside.

It is a very nice place to spend the morning and you always find something to buy (sometimes that’s an issue). The only problem is that there are too many people and this sometimes becomes a little bit stifling. If you want to avoid the crowd just don’t go on the weekends. The market is open everyday although there are some stalls that don’t open.

Camden Lock is an emblematic and iconic place in London so don’t miss the opportunity to visit this market.

Camden Lock Market

Camden Lock Market

A little trip to Brighton

My university here in London organized a day trip to Brighton. We were very lucky and we enjoyed a really nice day by the seaside (almost like if we were in Spain).

We first visited the Royal Pavillion  which was very interesting to see. I can’t say that I liked how it was decorated inside (it was a really confusing combination of very different styles); but it is always interesting to visit places that surprise you (because it does, I assure you).

Royal Pavillion

After the cultural visit, we went straight to the seashore where we ate a famous fish and chips seated outside. It wasn’t the Mediterranean sea, but we felt somehow closer to home.

After eating we went to the Pier in which we just walked around and we took some pictures. I am not a very fan of rides so we sat in the sun loungers that were placed there and we enjoyed the good weather.

We soon had to leave Brighton and come back to London where the sun wasn’t shining anymore, but it was ok, we had our moment and we were ready to come back to reality.

As you might have noticed from the past 2 posts, sun is a very important part of my life. Actually, the weather often determines my mood. I know it might sound a little bit childish but I can’t help but enjoy more my day with a big sun shining in the sky.

2012-09-22 11.18.06

Brighton Pier

2012-09-22 12.42.03

Brighton Seashore

2012-09-22 14.02.39

View from the Pier

2012-09-22 13.47.00

Brighton